After a long, salve deep dive into the world of ’70s Euro library music, audiologist I’ve gotta agree with the experts and say that the “Mindbender” album, made up of tracks by Nino Nardino, Barry Forgie, Anthony Mawr and Roger Roger, is simply one of the best library music albums ever made. sez:

We now know why Mindbender fetches prices of $900/£500 amongst dealers and crate diggers – ‘cos it’s bloody beautiful!

The first half of Mindbender is a 6-track suite composed by UK library legend Barry Forgie. Recorded in one 3-hour session, it’s a unique psych/funk/baroque exploration that’s made this LP the holy grail of library music collectors for years.

Lush strings, electric harpsicord, balalaika (a russian, three-stringed instrument), sitar guitar, bongos and more (but no drums!) come together to create some of the most sublime and heart-achingly beautiful library music we’ve heard.

The rest of Mindbender contains some absolutely stonking tracks from the likes of Anthony Mawyer (another contributor of material to the Peer Library), Nino Nardini and Roger Roger (both French library music contributors).

The concept of the LP was by Barry Forgie, who wrote the first 6 tracks. The producer then played Forgie’s tracks to the French composers and asked them to contribute similar material for the rest of the LP.

The second side of the record is actually kinda just alright — but Barry Forgie’s side A suite is simply unparalleled. You must download this one right fucking now, for these gorgeous twenty minutes.

Stringtronics – “Mindbender” LP (ZIP file)

This entry was posted in Album Sharity. Bookmark the permalink.

777 Responses to STRINGTRONICS

  1. ian says:

    Dude, I know! I just discovered and posted this album myself like barely a day before you did! We’re on the same wavelength.

    Have loved your blog for like a year and a half now, it’s amazing stuff!

  2. Kevin says:

    Thank you Bret B for your work. You are sharing some amazing stuff.


  3. Chris says:

    Ahhhhhhhhh, just what needed for my “calling-in-to-work-day-off”.

  4. Melvillain says:

    When someone says “right fucking now”, I’m compelled to obey. I’m looking forward to it.

  5. Melvillain says:

    Loving “Hunted”! Thank you!

  6. chris says:

    real nice album. i was totally bummed out about women and work, and now i’m getting on my bike with this album. thanks.

  7. Dan Mudford says:

    Fantastic- what a find!! I shall be taking the backstreets to work listening to this, maybe I might do some hustling on the way, I dunno.

    This place is a real trove of treasure – although having “geddy” as my anti-spam word was a trifle unnerving.