TALKING HEADS – CBS Demos, phimosis November 1975 sez:

“Recorded right about the time the Village Voice referred to David Byrne as a “skinny, more about neurasthenic Roy Orbison with the voice of a psychotic fifteen-year-old and he isn’t even fifteen”, these CBS demos (Heads would sign to Sire soon after) actually do sound like they could have been recorded at a parallel-universe Sun Studios, without the dripping echo, of course. It’s the Heads as early as the Heads get, and they start off as tight and quiet as one would expect, with the most reserved version of “Psycho Killer” in existence. The rest is still as taut as a sailor’s knot (especially the wonderful “Warning Sign”), but, just like Stop Making Sense, we can hear Byrne gradually loosening his cheeks and learning to rock as the songs progress. And just remember that Tina learned to play the bass in the cab on the way to the studio.”

This one’s already made the rounds on the MP3 blog circuit, but I just listened to it for the first time, and though it was fun.

Talking Heads – CBS Demos, November 1975 (ZIP file)

This entry was posted in Album Sharity. Bookmark the permalink.

671 Responses to TALKING HEADS

  1. smoggo says:

    is psycho killer supposed to be in this set? it’s not in what i downloaded.

  2. Mnomynous says:

    Thanks for this and all kinds of other good stuff! It just occurred to me that you’re hosting files yourself… hope that doesn’t end in tears.

  3. Rob says:

    This is so damn essential. The version of Tentative Decisions blows me away. Download if you don’t have this.

  4. dave says:

    Your blog is awesome. Great choices and mixes. Thanks for the output.

  5. Tom says:

    smoggo, Psycho Killer should be there (as the first song based on song orders I’ve seen) but doesn’t appear to be in this set

  6. Juan says:

    I don’t see Psycho Killer either. I’d love to hear it.
    Long live Egg City Radio.

  7. MrJJ says:

    Thank You
    I have added this to my MusicBox for online listening pleasure.

  8. fodleg says:

    you rock!